Manage your items

This section guides you to manage your items, i.e. perform the following actions:

  • edit or update a metadata record,

  • submit it for publication,

  • export your metadata record(s),

  • delete a metadata record,

  • upload content files to a metadata record,

  • delete content files, and

  • replace the content files you have uploaded.

All these actions are available through the provider’s grid (My grid). If you are not a provider and wish to become one, see the instructions provided here. There are currently two access modes to manage your items:

  1. the My items page, from where you can select one or multiple items, and

  2. the view page of each metadata record.

Note

Please, keep in mind, especially when you wish to perform an action on multiple items, that actions are in direct relation to the items status. When you select multiple items with different statuses, only actions that are valid for all of them will be displayed.

The following table shows the actions which can be performed on an item in the various phases of the publication lifecycle.

Status

edit

submit for publication

delete

upload content

replace content

draft

y

n

y

y

y

syntactically valid

y

y

y

y

y

submitted for publication

n

n/a

n

n

n

published

n

n/a

n

n

n

a. My items

The “My items” page looks like this:

"My items" page

Here, you can perform actions on a selected item. To do this, simply click on the icon on the right of its name and you will be presented with a choice of options.

Actions on my items

You can also select multiple items by clicking on the box next to their name. Depending on their status, you will be presented with a dropdown list from the “Action” box on top, as below. Whichever action you choose will be applied to all the selected items.

Actions on multiple items

b. View item

From the “My items” page you can be directed to the view page for an item. To do so, click on the actions and select “Edit”. On this page, you can again see the available actions from the action box.

Actions on a single item

Regardless of the mode you choose, the actions which you can perform on one or multiple items are described next.

Edit

You can change the metadata (i.e. edit or update them) of a catalogue item you have either created or been assigned to curate, if the status of the item allows it.

All updates are made via the Use the interactive editor. To view the items for which you are responsible, you can visit the “My items” page through My grid and select the one you wish to edit.

Upload, Delete and Replace content files

Note

For this release, upload of content files is supported only for Corpora, Lexical/Conceptual resources and Language descriptions. Please, keep in mind, that the content files must be compressed in a zip format.

In order to upload content files you must select to “Edit” the resource. You will be directed to the editor where you must select the Data section.

Upload content files

Once you click on the upload data button, a new window opens asking you to upload the zip folder of the content files.

Upload files in zip

When the upload has been successfully finished, you will notified by a message.

Zip uploaded successfully

For the upload to be completed you must associate the dataset with a distribution. To do so, go to the Distribution section. When the distribution form is set to downloadable, there is a metadata field below where you can create the link as shown in the image below. Click on the arrow in the field box and you will be presented with a dropdown list of two options: the by default empty value and the name of the dataset you have previously uploaded. Choose the latter and click on save.

Associate distribution to dataset

The next time you’ll edit the metadata record, you’ ll see that the dataset is associated with the distribution and the delete icon is deactivated.

Note

Please, keep in mind, that if there are multiple datasets and multiple distribution forms, you must repeat the procedure (upload - link) for each one of them separately.

Dataset associated to distribution

If you need to delete a dataset, you must first unlink it from the corresponding distribution (by choosing the empty option in the dropdown list) and save your changes. Then select to edit the metadata record once more. Go to the Data section and you’ll find the delete icon activated again. If you click on it you will receive a notification that the files have been successfully deleted. All information as regards the dataset is removed from the respective section.

Dataset deleted

Note

For the time being, if you need to replace a dataset you have to follow the procedure described above (unlink the existing dataset, delete it, upload a new one and associate it again with a distribution).

Submit for publication

Once you are satisfied with the description of an item, you can submit it for publication, in line with the publication lifecycle defined for ELG metadata records.

You can do this through the My items page for a single or multiple items, or the landing page of the metadata record.

Create new versions

When you create a new version for an LRT already registered in the ELG catalogue, you can submit it through the “Create new version” action. This will create a copy of the existing record with all the metadata that you have used for the old version, allow you to edit the information required for the new version and automatically create a relation with the previous version.

Note

This action is available only for published metadata records.

From the My items page select an item and then from the list of actions choose Create new version. Fill in the version number in the field that appears and, optionally, a version date. For organizations and projects,you will be prompted to add a new name.

Create new version

When the new record is created, you will be redirected to its view page; you can then proceed to edit it and submit for publication, following the publication lifecycle for all LRTs. If you have uploaded content files for the previous version, these will not be copied to the new version, so that you can upload the new files.

Upload content files to the new version

When you return to the My items page, you will see both versions of the metadata record.

New and old version

Note

Versions of an LRT appear all on the catalogue, with the newest version first.

Previous versions

On the view page of each version, links to previous/new versions are clearly marked.

Previous versions

Copy records

To describe similar LRTs, organizations or projects, you can use the Copy Record feature. This allows you to use an existing record as the matrix for generating them.

Note

This action is not available for draft records.

From the My items page select Copy Record from the action button next to the resource name.

Copy metadata

Fill in the name and (optionally) version fields.

Create copy

You will be notified if the copy has been successfully created.

Copy created

When the new record is created, you will be redirected to its view page; the status is set to syntactically valid, so you can proceed to edit it and submit for publication, following the publication lifecycle for all LRTs.

New version

Note

Please, keep in mind, that if the copy serves as a new version, you have to provide this information in the metadata, in the replaces relation field.

Replaced item

When you return to the My items page, you will see both versions of the metadata record.

New and old version

Export metadata records

You can export the metadata of all the items you have created in XML format, except for those marked as “draft”.

You can do this through the landing page of the metadata record, as shown on the following figure.

Export metadata record in XML format

Delete catalogue items

If you are not satisfied with the description of an item, you can delete its metadata record.

You can do this through the My items page for a single or multiple items, or the landing page of the metadata record.